April-I Fooled You

I got thinking today about an April Fool’s blog post I wrote about nine years ago–yes nine! Saying that just sounds crazy to me, like how fast is time going? Sheesh. Anyway, back to said blog post.

The entire post was meant as an April Fool’s joke in which I announced that at 51 we were welcoming a new addition to the family. That post got the nearly 700 views and a ton of comments. I’m sure mainly because a lot of people thought I was off my rocker. An addition to the family that late in the game! Enquiring minds just needed to know! Anyway, it was exciting to watch the stats that day. If you’re curious, here’s the link to One’s On the Way.

I couldn’t have hoped for a better way to announce that I’d signed a contract for my second book, FLYING WITH A BROKEN WING.

So why is this relevant at this time, you might ask? I guess because little did I know when I wrote that post the joke was really on me. It should have actually said, Three’s On the Way.

Nine years ago. I had no inkling that the story of a spunky visually girl would actually end up being #1 in the Cammie series. How’s that for surprises? And while #3 THE FAMILY WAY is about to make it’s debut into the publishing world in just thirteen days, who’s to say where that series will eventually end up. Will it stop at three or will there be a four or even five? Honestly, I don’t know the answer to that myself. That’s the marvelous thing about being a writer, all the surprises that we encounter along the way.

So Happy April Fool’s Day. I hope you encounter a surprise or two along the way.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I remember that, it was so funny. Happy April Fools Day! Keep writing. xo

    Like

    Reply
  2. I remember that one – and 700 views – WOW! Congrats on carrying on with Cammie’s story – where does the time go?

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Jan. It will be nice to share more of Cammie’s story with readers. It won’t be long now. 12 days until the official release.

      Like

      Reply
  3. I just read this post again, Laura, and had to check to be sure I had pre-ordered two copies – one for myself, one for my local library. And I had done so! I am excited to receive these!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 105,278 hits